#8 Books in 2016 ➡ the great Gatsby ⬅

image

#thegreatgatsby
#fscottfitzgerald
⭐⭐/⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I am so sorry, I really am.
This was so amazingly boring.
Didn’t watch the movie but guess it couldn’t be that worse.

I wanted to read it for such a long time and got it as a Christmas present.

There is that neighbor, Gatsby. So many questions are about his person: where is he from, why is he so rich, …  So far, so good. But how is it even possible that the “speaker” just talked blah. The society was boring, nothing happened except … But just after about 170 pages (from 220).

I really thought that the book is more special. That the mystery of Jay Gatsby would be more interesting. More substantial. It is so unbelievable that there isn’t even a story behind or at least a good writing. The story itself, the Gatsby, was interesting in a strange way. When Fitzgerald wrote it deeper without the whole blah around it really could be something. But too late. Hope Leonardo DiCaprio made it better.
My expectations were really high. Never believe me that this was the kind of book which just made me fell asleep.

Aww, I’m really disappointed.

🇩🇪

Irgendwas stimmt doch nicht mit mir. Ich hab so viel gutes über das Buch gehört und es ist ein großer Klassiker. Aber das Buch war so langweilig. Ich bin sogar gelegentlich beim Lesen eingeschlafen.
Die Gesellschaft war Oberflächlich. Die Leute hohl. Nichts geschah. Sie lebten nur in den Tag hinein, hier mal eine Affäre, da mal irgendwas …
Die Frage rund um den großen Gatsby hätte man anders gestalten können. Die letzten Seiten waren dann noch relativ “spannend”, aber den Knall hab ich wohl verpasst.
Mein Buch ist eine Neuauflage von 2011. Wie ist es möglich, dass dann trotzdem Wörter vorkommen, die man nicht mehr aussprechen darf?
Allgemein fand ich das Verhalten von diesen Leuten echt daneben. Klar, Rassentrennung wurde damals noch groß geschrieben, aber … ich rege mich echt auf, merkt ihr das?
Der große Gatsby. Eine Illusion der Langeweile.

Wenn die Magie verboten wird und die Liebe ausstirbt, was passiert dann mit einer Welt, die nur dadurch existieren kann?

– Das magische Armband

Leave a Reply

